Haryana is a state in northern India. It was carved out of the state of Punjab in 1966. It is bordered by Punjab and Himachal Pradesh to the north and Rajasthan to the west and south. Eastern border to Uttarakhand & Uttar Pradesh is defined by river Yamuna. Haryana also surrounds Delhi on three sides, forming the northern, western and southern borders of Delhi. Consequently, a large area of Haryana is included in the National Capital Region. The capital of Haryana is Chandigarh which is administered as a union territory and is also the capital of Punjab.

    • Established On: 1st November, 1966
    • Capital: Chandigarh
    • Governor: Sh. Bandaru Dattatreya
    • Chief Minister: Sh. Manohar Lal
    • Language(s): Hindi
    • District(s): 22

    Haryana is one of India’s most industrialized states. The city of Gurgaon is emerging as a major hub for the information technology and automobile industry. It is a leading manufacturing hub as it is also home to Maruti Udyog Limited, India’s largest automobile manufacturer, and Hero Honda Limited, the world’s largest manufacturer of two-wheelers. Panipat, Panchkula and Faridabad are also industrial hubs, with the Panipat Refinery being the second largest refinery in South Asia. There is also an established steel and textile industry in the state of Haryana. The name Haryana itself means “The Abode of God” from Hari (the Hindu God Vishnu) and ayana (home).